• #news
  • #meanwhile
  • #recap
  • #casestudy
  • #behindthescenes
  • #interview
  • #inteam
Tatjana Kohler 
  • #news

And the winner is...

The Land in Between at Paris Photo, Aperture Foundation Photobook Award

We are happy for the artist who we could support with our design.The Paris Photo is the largest international art fair for the medium of photography. Since 1997 it has been held every November at the Grand Palais in Paris and since 2012 it has been awarding a prize.
The PhotoBook Awards of the Aparture Foundation select photo books in three categories and this year The Land in Between won!...

 
  • #meanwhile

Everything so colorful here ...

Orgatec 2018

Last week I spent two intense days at Orgatec 2018 in Cologne, the biennial of the office furniture industry. As a regular visitor to this "leading trade fair" with many customers and business friends in the office furniture industry, it always feels like a big family reunion. It was therefore great fun this year to see how proud everyone was of the successes and changes in their companies and of the flourishing sector as a whole...

Susanne Zahlaus 
  • #recap

Organising big events

Our client, the Gerda Henkel Foundation, has been awarding the Gerda Henkel Prize (PLEX CASE) every two years since 2006. The prize honors scientists for their research achievements in the disciplines of historical humanities sponsored by the Foundation. On the evening of 8 October 2018 the time had come again. After almost two years of preparation for an evening of appreciation, appraisal and understanding, the ceremonial act began in Dusseldorf, in the old Ständehaus, today's art collection K21...

Tatjana Kohler 

On the shortlist!

The Land in Between at Paris Photo, Aperture Foundation Photobook Award

The Paris Photo is the largest international art fair for the medium of photography. Since 1997 it has been held every November at the Grand Palais in Paris and since 2012 it has been awarding a prize.
The PhotoBook Awards of the Aparture Foundation select photo books in three categories.
And this year we are on the shortlist...

Susanne Zahlaus 

They still exist: the good old data

A few days ago, our customer Wolfgang Wittrock, initiator of the Ferdinand Möller Foundation, asked whether data from the image brochure that had once been produced were still available. The editorial deadline for the brochure was March 1996. We were unsure and later equally surprised and delighted. Yes: the data still exists: a classic DVD in the PLEXGROUP archive. A medium-term Mac with integrated drive then (re)recognized the old piece, read it out and allowed the modern layout program to open the old predecessor and release it for editing.
Long-standing customers, long-lasting data, long-lasting design: that's also part of us.

Dietmar Mühr 

DAZ Deutsches Architektur Zentrum

Signage Update

Last week, we were able to show in our own building at the DAZ, Deutsches Architektur Zentrum, how a building management system implemented by us can be updated and modernised with just a few tricks. Even after 23 years, the signage system still looked good, but was no longer able to perform exactly what was required in terms of functionality. The floors in the German Architecture Centre were very strongly divided, office space was reduced, it was added and built up and thus many more tenants were added than could have been foreseen in 1995. In addition, the staircases were renamed at the same time. The most difficult part of the project was to make it through in the now heterogeneous owners' meeting of the property ...

Tatjana Kohler, Dietmar Muehr 
  • #casestudy

How supplier brands become an experience.

Oetiker - Experience Branding in the B2B sector

Automobile manufacturers in particular are now relying on "experience marketing". The so-called customer experience is what keeps the customer going. And the focus is on the brand. But also other products, such as commercial vehicles, household and electrical appliances or industrial machines are increasingly understood and designed as 360° product experiences. Because ever shorter innovation cycles make purely technology-based competitive advantages more difficult. Suppliers often become innovation drivers, even "market advantage suppliers" in a sense, especially of automotive OEMs. Therefore, it is more important than ever for suppliers to understand the end customer's requirements and to distinguish themselves from their various stakeholder groups through their own "brand experience" - and they are versatile. The end customer is a private individual, buyer, fleet leader, dealer or company employee ...

Tatjana Kohler 
  • #behindthescenes

A catalogue designed to the max

TO THE EXHIBITION OF URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG

An equally good exhibition catalogue is part of a good exhibition. In the best case, this is not only a by-product, but also enriches the exhibition as a haptic as well as a visual experience. It is therefore particularly important to find the atmosphere and image quality in the corresponding exhibition catalogue when depicting photographs.
For the exhibition "Ursula Schulz-Dornburg. The Land In-Between" we were commissioned to conceive and produce the corresponding catalogue ...

Dietmar Muehr 
  • #interview

How does a brand fit in with a foundation?

An interview with Isa Baumgarten, Chair of the board of the Heinz und Heide Dürr Foundation

It's nice when you've been working together for a long time and even develop together. In this context, we are delighted not only to have developed the corporate identity of the Heinz und Heide Dürr Foundation, but also to have conceived and implemented the relaunch of the website and the introduction of the Foundation blog this year. In the foreground was the symbiosis of keeping a faithful and proven line that set the corporate image and the step from "sponsor" to network partner, who does not "only" give money, but brings the different funding areas into conversation with each other and ensures a lively everyday life of the foundation. In this context we just copy their new blog concept: Three questions to ... and turned the tables on them.

Dietmar Muehr 
  • #inteam

Listener, initiator, translator, networker.

Jan Dietrich, Customer Relations Director

At PLEXGROUP, Jan Dietrich is responsible for customer contact. He has been working with us since 2013, reason enough to introduce him. PLEX is working on the future of brands. Jan keeps an eye on the processes of companies that PLEX is working on. As a product designer, he fits well into the team! In addition to his passion for communication, he brings deep insights into industrial research and manufacturing, as well as a keen sense of the user and user experience. He confronts companies with questions - the answers to these questions are usually complex, time-consuming and cost money. The challenge, therefore, is to find the right agency to help you find the right solution. To make this search easier for our customers, we have Jan Dietrich, our Customer Relations Director, at PLEX.

BLOX: das Magazin der PLEXGROUP

  • #news
  • #meanwhile
  • #recap
  • #casestudy
  • #behindthescenes
  • #interview
  • #inteam
Tatjana Kohler 
  • #news

And the winner is...

The Land in Between bei Paris Photo, Aperture Foundation Photobook Award

Wir freuen uns für die Künstlerin, die wir mit unserem Design unterstützen konnten. Die Paris Photo ist die größte internationale Kunstmesse für das Medium Fotografie. Seit 1997 findet sie jeden November im Grand Palais in Paris statt und vergibt seit 2012 einen Preis.
Die PhotoBook Awards der Aperture Foundation küren Fotobücher in drei Kategorien und dieses Jahr gewann The Land in Between!...

Dietmar Mühr 
  • #meanwhile

Alles so schön bunt hier …

Orgatec 2018

Vergangene Woche war ich für zwei intensive Tage auf der Orgatec 2018 in Köln, der Biennale der Büromöbel-Branche. Als regelmäßiger Besucher dieser „Leitmesse“ mit vielen Kunden und Geschäftsfreunden in der Büromöbelbranche, wirkt sie immer wie ein großes Familientreffen. Daher machte es dieses Jahr großen Spaß zu sehen, wie stolz alle auf die Erfolge und Veränderungen ihrer Unternehmen und insgesamt auf die florierende Branche waren...

Susanne Zahlaus 
  • #recap

Große Veranstaltungen organisieren

Seit 2006 vergibt unser Kunde, die Gerda Henkel Stiftung, im zweijährigen Turnus den Gerda Henkel Preis. (PLEX CASE) Der Preis würdigt WissenschaftlerInnen für ihre Forschungsleistungen in den von der Stiftung geförderten Disziplinen der Historischen Geisteswissenschaften. Am 8. Oktober 2018 war es wieder soweit. Nach fast zweijähriger Vorbereitungszeit für einen Abend der Würdigung, Wertschätzung und Verständigung begann in Düsseldorf, im alten Ständehaus, der heutigen Kunstsammlung K21, der feierliche Akt...

Tatjana Kohler 

Auf der Shortlist!

The Land in Between bei Paris Photo, Aperture Foundation Photobook Award

Die Paris Photo ist die größte internationale Kunstmesse für das Medium Fotografie. Seit 1997 findet sie jeden November im Grand Palais in Paris statt und vergibt seit 2012 einen Preis.
Die PhotoBook Awards der Aperture Foundation küren Fotobücher in drei Kategorien.
Und dieses Jahr stehen wir auf der Shortlist...

Susanne Zahlaus 

Es gibt sie noch: die guten alten Daten

Vor ein paar Tagen fragte unser Kunde Wolfgang Wittrock, Initiator der Ferdinand-Möller-Stiftung nach, ob Daten der einst erstellten Imagebroschüre noch verfügbar wären. Redaktionsschluss der Broschüre war März 1996. Wir waren unsicher und später gleichermaßen verwundert und erfreut. Ja: die Daten gibt es noch: eine klassische DVD im PLEXGROUP Archiv. Ein mittelzeitlicher Mac mit integriertem Laufwerk hat das alte Stück dann (wieder)erkannt, ausgelesen und zugelassen, dass das neuzeitliche Layoutprogramm, den altertümlichen Vorgänger öffnete und zur Bearbeitung freigab.
Langjährige Kunden, langlebige Daten, langwirkendes Design: auch das gehört zu uns.

Dietmar Mühr 

DAZ Deutsches Architektur Zentrum

Signage Update

In der letzten Woche konnten wir in unserem eigenen Objekt im DAZ, Deutsches Architektur Zentrum, zeigen, wie ein von uns realisiertes Gebäudeleitsystem mit wenigen Kunstgriffen aktualisieren und modernisiert wird. Das Leitsystem sah auch nach 23 Jahren immer noch gut aus, konnte aber funktional nicht mehr ganz das leisten, was gefordert war. Denn die Geschosse im Deutschen Architekturzentrum wurden sehr stark aufgeteilt, Büroflächen wurden verkleinert, es wurde an- und aufgebaut und damit kamen sehr viel mehr Mieter hinzu, als man 1995 voraussehen konnte. Zudem wurden in dem Zuge die Treppenaufgänge umbenannt. Der schwierigste Part am Projekt war, es in der inzwischen heterogenen Eigentümerversammlung des Objekts durchzubringen ...

Tatjana Kohler, Dietmar Mühr 
  • #casestudy

Wie Zulieferer-Marken zum Erlebnis werden.

Oetiker – Experience Branding im B2B Bereich

Besonders Automobilhersteller setzen heute auf Erlebnis-Marketing. Die so genannte Customer Experience – das Kundenerlebnis – ist das, was den Kunden hält. Und im Mittelpunkt steht die Marke. Aber auch andere Produkte, wie Nutzfahrzeuge, Haushalts- und Elektrogeräte oder Industriemaschinen werden zunehmend als 360°- Produkterlebnis verstanden und designt. Denn immer kürzere Innovationszyklen erschweren rein technologiebasierte Wettbewerbsvorteile. Zulieferer werden oft zum Innovationstreiber, ja gewissermaßen zum Marktvorteils-Lieferanten, vor allem der Automobil-OEMs. Stärker als bisher geht es daher auch für Zulieferer darum, die Anforderungen der Endkunden zu verstehen und sich über eine eigene »Erlebnis-Markenführung« gegenüber ihren unterschiedlichen Anspruchsgruppen zu profilieren – und die sind vielseitig. Der Endkunde ist Privatperson, Einkäufer, Flottenführer, Händler oder unternehmenseigener Mitarbeiter ...

Tatjana Kohler 
  • #behindthescenes

Ein Katalog designed to the max

Zur Ausstellung von Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

Zu einer guten Ausstellung gehört ein ebenso guter Ausstellungskatalog. Im besten Fall ist dieser nicht nur ein Nebenprodukt, sondern bereichert auch nach der Ausstellung als sowohl haptisches wie auch visuelles Erlebnis. Besonders bei der Abbildung von Fotografien ist es daher wichtig, die Atmosphäre und Bildqualität auch in dem entsprechenden Ausstellungskatalog wiederzufinden. Für die Ausstellung „Ursula Schulz-Dornburg. The Land In-Between“ hatten wir den Auftrag, den dazugehörigen Katalog zu konzipieren und zu produzieren ...

Dietmar Mühr 
  • #interview

Wie passt Marke mit Stiftung zusammen?

Ein Interview mit Isa Baumgarten, Vorstandsvorsitzende der Heinz und Heide Dürr Stiftung

Es ist schön, wenn man schon lange zusammenarbeitet und sich sogar miteinander weiterentwickelt. In dem Zusammenhang freuen wir uns, nicht nur das Corporate Design der Heinz und Heide Dürr Stiftung entwickelt zu haben, sondern in diesem Jahr den Relaunch der Webseite und die Einführung des Stiftungs-Blogs konzipiert und umgesetzt zu haben. Im Vordergrund stand die Symbiose aus dem Halten einer treuen und bewährten Linie, die das Corporate Design gesetzt hat und der Schritt vom „Förderer“ zum Netzwerkpartner, der nicht „nur“ Geld gibt, sondern die unterschiedlichen Förderbereiche miteinander ins Gespräch bringt und für einen lebendigen Stiftungsalltag sorgt. In dem Zusammenhang haben wir es einem der Blog-Konzepte der Dürr Stiftung: "Drei Fragen an ..." gleichgetan und den Spieß einfach umgedreht.

Dietmar Mühr 
  • #inteam

Zuhörer, Impulsgeber, Übersetzer, Vernetzer.

Jan Dietrich, Customer Relations Director

Bei PLEXGROUP ist Jan Dietrich für den Kontakt zum Kunden verantwortlich. Er arbeitet seit 2013 mit uns zusammen, Grund genug, ihn einmal vorzustellen. PLEX arbeitet an der Zukunft von Marken. Jan hat dabei die Prozesse von Unternehmen im Blick, an denen die Arbeit von PLEX ansetzt. Als Produktdesigner passt er gut ins Team! Zu seiner Leidenschaft für Kommunikation bringt er tiefe Einblicke in industrielle Forschung und Fertigung mit, genauso wie ein gutes Gespür für die Experience von Nutzern und Anwendern. Er konfrontiert Unternehmen mit Fragen - die Antworten auf diese Fragen sind in der Regel komplex, aufwändig, und sie kosten Geld. Die Herausforderung ist daher, die passende Agentur zu finden, die zielgerichtet bei der Lösung hilft. Um unseren Kunden diese Suche zu erleichtern, haben wir bei PLEX Jan Dietrich, unseren Customer Relations Director.